Head Teachers Welcome

Calendar

Latest Tweet


RT @SouthSTheatre: It was so brilliant to work with the Year 7s at @shsrbk! Thank you for having us! https://t.co/u0RftQLw6S

RT @DRAMA_SHS: Lots of fun in the drama room exploring Commedia Dell Arte thanks to Toby from @SouthSTheatre @shsrbk boys had a great works…

RT @DRAMA_SHS: Big thanks to @SouthSTheatre for their workshop on Greek Theatre with year 7 thanks for coming in, boys loved it!! 🎭 https:/…
Follow Southborough High on Twitter

Teaching Staff

Science Teacher

For full details of the position and how to apply please the the following documents:

 

Support Staff

Thank you for your interest in working with us. Unfortunately, there are currently no vacancies. Any future positions will be posted here, so do check back soon.


Southborough High is a non-selective academy school for boys between the ages of 11 and 16, and boys and girls post 16. The roll is just over 800, over 200 of whom are in the sixth form. Southborough High is a thriving school which is continually developing and improving and has a very good reputation locally. The school provides a high quality of education in a happy and purposeful atmosphere.

The current Headteacher took up post in November 2011 since when a wide range of improvements have been achieved. Our OFSTED Inspection in December 2017 was very successful and catalogues a range of high achievement by pupils and staff. All applicants are invited to read the full Ofsted Report which is available on our school website. Southborough High has a reputation for innovation which will attract teachers who are both enthusiastic and ambitious. There is a real welcome for new staff who bring new ideas, commitment, energy and professionalism to our school in order to help every student realise their true potential.

The Staff here are over 48 teachers, a third of whom are women. With the increase in pupil numbers there has been an influx of new staff, creating a positive blend of more experienced colleagues with youth. Both Ofsted and Investors in People remarked upon the happy working atmosphere which is both supportive and collaborative. There is an active Senior Management Team comprising from of the Head, two Deputy Heads and two Assistant Heads. Academic and pastoral matters are viewed coherently and the roles of the tutor, Head of Year and Pastoral Support Officers are pivotal to the process of developing the whole child. Heads of Department lead curriculum areas along with the support of specialist subject teams.

Heads of Year and Pastoral Support Officers provide a focus for personal development and academic progress. We are also fortunate to be served by an excellent Learning Support Team, led by our SENCO, which includes a School Counsellor and many teaching assistants. There are also peripatetic tutors for several musical instruments. The Support Staff play a crucial role in the organisation. There is the Head’s PA, PA to Deputy Heads/Clerk to Governors, a receptionist, a bursar, a finance assistant and clerical assistants (all of whom work in the main school office), a librarian and library assistant, two laboratory assistants, an ICT technician, two Technology/Art technicians and a resources assistant who provides a comprehensive reprographics service to support learning. There is also a Site Manager and his assistant who maintain the good appearance and cleanliness of our site and buildings. There is a great emphasis placed upon staff development. An appropriate induction programme exists for all new staff (including newly qualified teachers). Appraisal is fully operational in the school involving all staff. There is also an active staff social committee.

 

 

Want to know more? Then why not…

 

Have a look at our Twitter @shsrbk or Facebook /SouthboroughHigh

Contact the school on 020 8391 4324 or e-mail the school on office@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

SENIOR LEADERSHIP

 

Mr Niall Smith

Role: Headteacher

Qualifications: Master of Arts (Cantab), National Professional Qualification for Headship (N.P.H.Q.)

Teaching Area: English
Email: nsmith@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Mr Brian Burns

Role: Deputy Headteacher

Qualifications: Bachelor of Arts (Honours), National Professional Qualification for Headship (N.P.Q.H.)

Responsibilities: Teaching & Learning

Teaching Area: Business Studies
Email: bburns@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Mr Craig Wicking

Role: Deputy Headteacher

Qualifications: Bachelor of Science (Honours), National Professional Qualification of Headship (N.P.Q.H.)

Responsibilities: Curriculum & Assessment

Teaching Area: Maths
Email: cwicking@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Mr Daniel Edwards

Role: Assistant Headteacher

Qualifications: Bachelor of Science (Honours)

Responsibilities: Pastoral Care

Teaching Area: PE
Email: dedwards@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

Mr David Sanders

Role: Head of Sixth Form

Qualifications: Bachelor of Science (Honours)

Responsibilities; Sixth Form; Teaching Area: Science
E-mail: dsanders@southborough.kingston.sch.uk




Teaching Staff

 

English, Drama & Media Studies

Louis Botha LBO HOS Media St & Psychology/Asst Head of 6th Form lbotha@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Jamie-Lee King JLK English 2 i/c / EAL Co-Ordinator jking@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Alal Haque AHA HOF English ahaque@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Rebecca Linney RLI HOY8 / English rlinney@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Jennifer Mosely JMO English Lead Practitioner jmosely@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Satbir Panesar SBA English Teacher spanesar@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Chloe Parsons CPA HOS Drama cparsons@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Amanda Taylor ATA English Teacher ataylor@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Mathematics and Computing

Ian Boakes IBO Maths 2 i/c iboakes@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Peter Charles-Jones PCJ KS5 Maths Co-Ordinator pcharlesjones@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Amy McIntyre AMI HOF Maths amcintyre@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Kokulan Ragulan KRA Maths Teacher kragulan@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Anthony Smith ASM Computing Teacher asmith@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Daniel Studd DST Maths Teacher dstudd@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Ben Thomas BTH Maths Teacher bthomas@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Jane Weller JWE Maths Lead Practitioner jweller@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
John Garcia JGR Maths Teacher jgarcia@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Science 

Joseph Eamer JEA HOF Science  jeamer@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Shin Lee SLE Science Teacher slee@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Catherine Taylor CTA STEM Lead Practitioner ctaylor@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Diego Penagos DPE Science Teacher dpenagos@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Rebecca White RWH Science 2 i/c rwhite@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Darnisha Yuvarajah DYU Science Teacher dyuvurajah@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Humanities 

Ryan Carter RCA Geography Teacher rcarter@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Kim Flaherty KFL HOS / Geography kflaherty@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Jemima Fox JFO History Teacher jfox@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Matthew Iles MIL RE Teacher miles@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Ian Needs INE HOF Humanities ineeds@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Cristian Raducanu CRA History Teacher craducanu@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Modern Foreign Languages 

Alexandra Banks ABA HOY7 / MFL abanks@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Natasha Coen NCO MFL / English / Deputy Head of Sixth Form ncoen@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
David Johnson DJO HOF MFL djohnson@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Engineering

Robert Bagley RBG Engineering Teacher rbagley@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Darren Sowerbutts DSO Head of Engineering dsowerbutts@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Gary Swinchin Rew GSR HOY10 / Engineering gswinchinrew@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Karl Nicholas KNI Engineering / Assistant SENCO / HOY9 knicholas@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Music & Art

Rahul Chawla RCH HOS Music rchawla@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Kate Geering KGE HOY10  / Art / Careers Co-ordinator kgeering@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
David Morgan DMO HOF Music & Art dmorgan@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Physical Education

Rhys Boorman RBO PE Teacher rboorman@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
James Colbert JCO HOF PE jcolbert@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Daniel Grinstead DGR PE Teacher dgrinstead@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Chris Jordan CJO PE / D of E Co-Ordinator cjordan@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Inclusion 

Jenni Lee-Potter JPO Inclusion Manager / SENCO jleepotter@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Support Staff:

 

Pastoral Support Team

Dawn Ball DBA PSO KS4 / Cover Supervisor dball@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Karen Clements KCL PSO KS3 / Cover Supervisor kclements@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Robert Richardson RRI School Counsellor rrichardson@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Samuel Taylor STY Learning Facilitator KS4 samtaylor@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Sue Taylor STA Sicth Form Support Officer / BTEC Quality Nominee staylor@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Charlotte Gibson CGI Cover Supervisor cgibson@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Paul Da Costa PDA Learning Mentor pdacosta@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Teaching Assistants

Irene Dalmedo IDA Teaching Assistant idalmedo@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
David Naumann DNA Teaching Assistant dnaumann@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Sylwia Jezyk SJE Teaching Assistant sjezyk@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Karen Gregory KGR Teaching Assistant kgregory@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Barry Collins BCO Teaching Assistant bcollins@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Alex Lore ALR Teaching Assistant alore@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Roger Manning RMA Teaching Assistant rmanning@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Trudy Pollicott TPO Senior Teaching Assistant tpollicott@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Mojgan Zaman-nia MZA Teaching Assistant mzamannia@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Thiluxian Suthakaran TSU Teaching Assistant tsuthakaran@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Site Team

Elizabeth Argent EAR Cleaner eargent@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Bob Hawken RHA Site Manager bhawken@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Leszek Lisiecki LLI Cleaner llisiecki@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Daniel Nice DNI Assistant Site Manager dnice@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Curriculum Support Team

Sam Coulson SCL Senior Science Technician scoulson@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Elaine Donnelly EDO Reprographics Assistant edonnelly@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Stephen Eacott SEA Activities Facilitator seacott@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
James Humphrey JHU Librarian jhumphrey@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Loobna Najeeb LNA Exams Officer / Data Manager lnajeeb@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Vineeta Shukla VSH Curriculum Support Assistant (Science & Food) vshukla@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Patricia Thorne PTH Curriculum Support Assistant (Art & Engineering) tthorne@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Administration & Finance

Nichola Bell NBE PA to SLT / Clerk to Governors nbell@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Alexandra Desai ADE Attendance / Admin Officer adesai@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Sarah Humphreys SHU Receptionist shumphrey@southborough.kingston.sch.uk 
Sarah Oliphant MOT PA to Head / Office Manager soliphant@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Elaine Parmenter EPA Receptionist Thursday eparmenter@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Clare Loveday CLO School Finance Officer cloveday@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

lib.jpg

The Library provides a place where students can access learning independently, to carry out research, pursue personal interests, do homework, study or read quietly.  It has a wide selection of fiction and non-fiction books, networked computers with internet access and many other resources.  All curriculum areas make extensive use of these facilities.  Students are expected to respect the Library, and to behave in a responsible manner so as not to disturb others.  

OPENING HOURS AND HOMEWORK CLUB

The Library is open Monday - Friday from 8:00am to 4:10pm.

The after school homework club is well attended by students and runs every Monday - Friday until 4:10pm.

The Library is open at lunchtimes for use by students.

A booking system operates for the use of computers. A reading group for Year 7 and 8 is held in the Library every other Wednesday lunchtime, commencing at 12:45pm. Sessions are run by staff from Kingston libraries.

 

CODE OF CONDUCT

  • Students are expected to behave in a responsible manner and to not disturb others.
  • Any damaged or lost items must be paid for.
  • Food, drink and chewing gum are forbidden in the Library.

  

GOVERNORS (Directors)

 

SOUTHBOROUGH HIGH SCHOOL

LIST OF GOVERNORS (DIRECTORS) – September 2019

Current Governors (and information):

Name:

Category:

Pecuniary/Business Interests:

No. of Meetings Attended during the period from September 2018 – August 2019

Michael Armstrong

Community Governor

Curriculum & Achievement Committee

(17.09.18 – 17.09.22)

4 out of possible 10

Sampa Bhasin

Community Governor

Curriculum & Achievement Committee

(25.01.15 – 25.01.19)

(26.01.19 – 26.01.23)

7 out of possible 10

Malcolm Gregory

Parent Governor

Vice Chair of Governors

Children, Families and Community Committee (Chair)

(13.07.16 – 13.07.20)

Spouse is employee of the Academy

10 out of possible 10

Clare Henderson

Community Governor

Chair of Governors

All Committees

(01.09.17 – 01.09.21)

England Handball Association - Director

9 out of possible 11

Fred Houwen

Parent Governor

(13.11.18 – 13.11.22)

Children, Families and Community Committee

7 out of possible 8

Junaid Kazi

Community Governor

Curriculum & Achievement Committee

(19.07.16 – 19.07.20)

6 out of possible 10

Robin Kent

Co-opted Governor

Curriculum & Achievement Committee (Vice Chair)

(19.07.16 – 19.07.20)

Unity Schools Trust – Trustee

Business and Enterprise advisor – St Paul’s School

9 out of possible 10

Jamie-Lee King

Staff Governor

Curriculum & Achievement Committee

(14.04.16 – 14.04.20)

Employed by the Academy

8 out of possible 10

Tim Neale

Community Governor

Children, Families and Community Committee

(02.01.19 – 02.01.23)

4 out of possible 7

Michael Phillips

Community Governor

Resources, Personnel and Finance Committee (Chair)

(01.09.17 – 01.09.21)

7 out of possible 10

Michael Rose

Parent Governor

Resources, Personnel & Finance Committee

(14.05.18 – 14.05.22)

9 out of possible 11

Niall Smith

Headteacher (ex Oficio)

Resources, Personnel & Finance Committee - SLT

Headteacher

11 out of possible 11

Bob Steed

Community Governor

Children, Families and Community Committee

(01.08.17 – 01.08.21)

8 out of possible 10

Jonathan Walters

Parent Governor

Resources, Personnel & Finance Committee

(12.03.19 – 12.03.23

3 out of possible 4

Rebecca White

Staff Governor

Children, Families and Community Committee

(13.11.17 – 13.11.21)

9 out of possible 10

Ex Governors:

Nick Tassell

Parent Governor

Resources, Personnel & Finance Committee (Chair)

(23.11.16 – 23.11.20)

2 out of possible 4

Sarfraz Rahman

Community Governor

Resources, Personnel & Finance Committee

(25.11.15 – 25.11.19)

6 out of possible 9

 

The Academy Articles of Association document can be found here.

Anyone wishing to contact the Governors can do so via the Clerk, Mrs N Bell (nbell@southborough.kingston.sch.uk)

 

Southborough High School
Hook Road
Surbiton
Surrey
KT6 5AS
020 8391 4324
Registered Office: Hook Road, Surbiton, Surrey KT6 5AS, Registered in England
& Wales, Company Registration No. 07776910
© 2016 Southborough High School / Designed & Built by GoAgency

We will try to respond within 48 hours