Head Teachers Welcome

Calendar

Latest Tweet


RT @pesport_SHS: A good victory for the U19 basketball team this afternoon in the Surrey schools Cup against Lingfield college, 60-44 #onto

RT @ClaresChallenge: @shsrbk Congratulations to all students past and present receiving recognition last night at prize giving. Well done t…

RT @JayneDinnin: Thank you Cameron Holenstein @Harlequins for giving up your time to coach at @shsrbk after school rugby club yesterday. M…

RT @Kim_Flaherty: Year 9 creating an ethical 2 year plan for improvements to factories manufacturing garments for Primark. #Teamwork #globa
Follow Southborough High on Twitter

Teaching Vacancies

 There are currently no teaching vacancies available. Thank you for your interest in working with us.

Support Staff

Senior Science Technician

 

Are you a person that could work for us?

The answer could be “yes” if you…

 

  • Love teaching!
  • Would like to work in a caring, multicultural, high achieving, 11-19 boys’ school
  • Are looking for a school with lots of extracurricular activity
  • Are interested in a developing your career

 

Southborough High is a non-selective academy school for boys between the ages of 11 and 16, and boys and girls post 16. The roll is just over 800, over 200 of whom are in the sixth form. Southborough High is a thriving school which is continually developing and improving and has a very good reputation locally. The school provides a high quality of education in a happy and purposeful atmosphere.

The current Headteacher took up post in November 2011 since when a wide range of improvements have been achieved. Our OFSTED Inspection in December 2013 was very successful and catalogues a range of high achievement by pupils and staff. All applicants are invited to read the full Ofsted Report which is available on our school website. Southborough High has a reputation for innovation which will attract teachers who are both enthusiastic and ambitious. There is a real welcome for new staff who bring new ideas, commitment, energy and professionalism to our school in order to help every student realise their true potential.

The Staff here are over 48 teachers, a third of whom are women. With the increase in pupil numbers there has been an influx of new staff, creating a positive blend of more experienced colleagues with youth. Both Ofsted and Investors in People remarked upon the happy working atmosphere which is both supportive and collaborative. There is an active Senior Management Team comprising from of the Head, two Deputy Heads and two Assistant Heads. Academic and pastoral matters are viewed coherently and the roles of the tutor, Head of Year and Pastoral Support Officers are pivotal to the process of developing the whole child. Heads of Department lead curriculum areas along with the support of specialist subject teams.

Heads of Year and Pastoral Support Officers provide a focus for personal development and academic progress. We are also fortunate to be served by an excellent Learning Support Team, led by our SENCO, which includes a School Counsellor and many teaching assistants. There are also peripatetic tutors for several musical instruments. The Support Staff play a crucial role in the organisation. There is the Head’s PA, PA to Deputy Heads/Clerk to Governors, a receptionist, a bursar, a finance assistant and clerical assistants (all of whom work in the main school office), a librarian and library assistant, two laboratory assistants, an ICT technician, two Technology/Art technicians and a resources assistant who provides a comprehensive reprographics service to support learning. There is also a Site Manager and his assistant who maintain the good appearance and cleanliness of our site and buildings. There is a great emphasis placed upon staff development. An appropriate induction programme exists for all new staff (including newly qualified teachers). Appraisal is fully operational in the school involving all staff. There is also an active staff social committee.

 

 

Want to know more? Then why not…

 

Have a look at our Twitter @shsrbk or Facebook /SouthboroughHigh

Contact the school on 020 8391 4324 or e-mail the school on office@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

SENIOR MANAGEMENT

 

Mr Niall Smith

Role: Headteacher

Qualifications: Master of Arts (Cantab), National Professional Qualification for Headship (N.P.H.Q.)

Teaching Area: English
Email: nsmith@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Mr Brian Burns

Role: Deputy Headteacher

Qualifications: Bachelor of Arts (Honours), National Professional Qualification for Headship (N.P.Q.H.)

Responsibilities: Teaching & Learning

Teaching Area: Business Studies
Email: bburns@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Mr Craig Wicking

Role: Deputy Headteacher

Qualifications: Bachelor of Science (Honours), National Professional Qualification of Headship (N.P.Q.H.)

Responsibilities: Curriculum

Teaching Area: Maths
Email: cwicking@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Mr Daniel Edwards

Role: Assistant Headteacher

Qualifications: Bachelor of Science (Honours)

Responsibilities: Achievement

Teaching Area: PE
Email: dedwards@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Mr Michael Neal

Role: Assistant Headteacher

Qualifications: Bachelor of Science (Honours)

Responsibilities: Assessment

Teaching Area: Geography
Email: mneal@southborough.kingston.sch.uk




Teaching Staff

 

English and Drama

Katie Johnston KJO English kjohnston@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Jamie-Lee King JLK English 2 i/c / EAL Co-Ordinator jking@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Rebecca Linney RLI HOY11 / English rlinney@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Bridget Morkane BMO English / Able Students Co-Ordinator bmorkane@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Jennifer Mosely JMO HOF English jmosely@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Chloe Parsons CPA Drama cparsons@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Mathematics and Computing

Ian Boakes IBO Maths 2 i/c iboakes@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Peter Charles-Jones PCJ Maths  pcharlesjones@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Amy McIntyre AMI HOD Maths amcintyre@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Anthony Smith ASM Computing asmith@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Daniel Studd DST Maths dstudd@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Gary Swinchin Rew GSR HOY9 / HOS Computing gswinchinrew@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Ben Thomas BTH Maths  bthomas@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Science 

Joseph Eamer JEA HOF Science  jeamer@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Shin Lee SLE Science slee@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Ash Mahmood AMA Science amahmood@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Mihai Ruta MRU Science mruta@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
David Sanders DSA Head of Sixth Form  dsanders@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Catherine Taylor CTA Lead Practitioner in STEM ctaylor@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Rebecca White RWH Science 2 i/c rwhite@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Humanities 

Forough Basirat FBA Geography  fbasirat@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Heidi Benzing-Shears HBS History hbenzingshears@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Louis Botha LBO HOS Media St & Psychology/Asst Head of 6th Form lbotha@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Kim Flaherty KFL HOY7 / Geography kflaherty@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Matthew Iles MIL RE miles@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Peter Mayfield PMA Geography pmayfield@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Helen Lamb HLA History hlamb@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Ian Needs INE HOF Humanities ineeds@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Modern Foreign Languages 

Alexandra Banks ABA HOY10 / MFL abanks@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Natasha Coen NCO Assistant Head of Sixth Form / MFL ncoen@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
David Johnson DJO HOD MFL djohnson@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Lina Rodriguez Otero LRO MFL lrodriguez@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Erika Stiles EST MFL estiles@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Business Enterprise

Shah Miah SMI Head of Business and Enterprise smiah@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Music, Art & Technology

Robert Bagley RBG Art/DT rbagley@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Kate Geering KGE HOY8 / Events Co-Ordinator / Art kgeering@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
David Morgan DMO HOD Art & Technology dmorgan@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Hilary Pollitt HPO Food Technology hpollitt@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Darren Sowerbutts DSO Art/DT dsowerbutts@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Glynnys Watkins GWA HOS Music gwatkins@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Physical Education

James Colbert JCO HOF PE jcolbert@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Andy Cooper ACO Sports Academy Director acooper@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Chris Jordan CJO PE / D of E Co-Ordinator cjordan@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Peter Mayfield PMA PE pmayfield@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Inclusion 

Jenni Lee-Potter JPO Inclusion Manager / SENCO jleepotter@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Support Staff:

 

Pastoral Support Team

Dawn Ball DBA PSO KS4 / Cover Supervisor dball@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Karen Clements KCL PSO KS3 / Cover Supervisor kclements@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Ashley Noble ANO Learning Facilitator KS3 anoble@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Owen O’Toole OOT School Counsellor ootoole@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Samuel Taylor STY Learning Facilitator KS4 samtaylor@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Sue Taylor STA Sicth Form Support Officer / BTEC Quality Nominee staylor@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Teaching Assistants

Helen Blackler HBA Teaching Assistant hblackler@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Charlotte Gibson CGI Teaching Assistant cgibson@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Karen Gregory KGR Teaching Assistant kgregory@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Rachna Jade RJA Teaching Assistant rjade@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Anna Lofts ALO Teaching Assistant alofts@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Roger Manning RMA Teaching Assistant rmanning@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Trudy Pollicott TPO Senior Teaching Assistant tpollicott@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Site Team

Elizabeth Argent EAR Cleaner eargent@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Bob Hawken RHA Site Manager bhawken@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Leszek Lisiecki LLI Cleaner llisiecki@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Daniel Nice DNI Assistant Site Manager dnice@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Catering Team

Faye Cunningham JBR Catering Assistant fcunningham@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Khatune Ewing KEW Catering Assistant kewing@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Claire Maskell CMA School Cook cmaskell@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Jacqueline Palmer JPA School Cook jpalmer@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Curriculum Support Team

Irene Dalmedo IDA Languages Assistant idalmedo@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Elaine Donnelly EDO Reprographics Assistant edonnelly@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Stephen Eacott SEA Activities Facilitator seacott@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Karen Gregory KGR DT Food Technician kgregory@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Alison Pike API Library Manager apike@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Simon Pike SPI Exams Officer / Trips & Journeys spike@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Pradeepa Samaranayake PSA Senior Science Technician psamaranayake@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Vineeta Shukla VSH Science Technician vshukla@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Patricia Thorne PTH Art/DT Technician tthorne@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Administration 

Nichola Bell NBE PA to SLT / Clerk to Governors nbell@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Alexandra Desai ADE Attendance / Admin Officer adesai@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Sarah Humphreys SHU Receptionist shumphreys@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Michelle O’Toole MOT PA to Head/Principal Admin Mgr motoole@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

 

Finance

Nataliya Bennett NBN Academy Business Manager nbennett@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Clare Loveday CLO School Finance Officer cloveday@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

lib.jpg

The Library provides a place where students can access learning independently, to carry out research, pursue personal interests, do homework, study or read quietly.  It has a wide selection of fiction and non-fiction books, networked computers with internet access and many other resources.  All curriculum areas make extensive use of these facilities.  Students are expected to respect the Library, and to behave in a responsible manner so as not to disturb others.  

OPENING HOURS AND HOMEWORK CLUB

The Library is open Monday - Friday from 8:00am to 4:10pm.

The after school homework club is well attended by students and runs every Monday - Friday until 4:10pm.

The Library is open at lunchtimes for use by students.

A booking system operates for the use of computers. A reading group for Year 7 and 8 is held in the Library every other Wednesday lunchtime, commencing at 12:45pm. Sessions are run by staff from Kingston libraries.

 

CODE OF CONDUCT

  • Students are expected to behave in a responsible manner and to not disturb others.
  • Any damaged or lost items must be paid for.
  • Food, drink and chewing gum are forbidden in the Library.

  

GOVERNORS (Directors)

Name:

Category:

Pecuniary/Business Interests:

No. of Meetings Attended during the period from September 2016 – August 2017

Current Governors (and information):

Michael Armstrong

Community Governor

Curriculum & Achievement Committee (Chair)

(16.09.14 – 16.09.18)

5 out of possible 10

Sampa Bhasin

Community Governor

Curriculum & Achievement Committee

(25.01.15 – 25.01.19)

7 out of possible 11

Tony Elsdon

Community Governor

Children, Families and Community Committee

(19.07.16 – 19.07.20)

 Young Enterprise business advisor

8 out of possible 9

Stephen Foxley

Parent Governor

Resources, Personnel & Finance Committee (Vice Chair)

(26.11.13 – 26.11.17)

8 out of possible 12

Malcolm Gregory

Parent Governor

(13.07.16 – 13.07.20)

Children, Families and Community Committee (Vice Chair)

Spouse is employee of the Academy

10 out of possible 10

Clare Henderson

Community Governor

Chair of Governors

All Committees

(01.09.17 - 01.09.21)

England Handball Association - Director

10 out of possible 11

Trudy Hutchinson

Parent Governor

Children, Families and Community Committee (Vice Chair)

(28.11.16 – 28.11.20)

7 out of possible 7

Junaid Kazi

Community Governor

Curriculum & Achievement Committee

(19.07.16 – 19.07.20)

9 out of possible 10

Robin Kent

Co-opted Governor

Curriculum & Achievement Committee (Vice Chair)

(19.07.16 – 19.07.20)

Unity Schools Trust - Trustee

Business and Enterprise Advisor - St Paul's School

11 out of possible 11

Jamie-Lee King

Staff Governor

Curriculum & Achievement Committee

(14.04.16 – 14.04.20)

Employed by the Academy

8 out of possible 10

Michael Phillips

Community Governor

Resources, Personnel and Finance Committee

(01.09.17 – 01.09.21)

9 out of possible 13

Sarfraz Rahman

Director

Community Governor

Resources, Personnel & Finance Committee - Vice Chair

(25.11.15 – 25.11.19)

7 out of possible 12

 Niall Smith

Headteacher (ex Oficio)

Resources, Personnel & Finance Committee - SLT

Headteacher

12 out of possible 13

Daorbhla Smyth

Community Governor

Curriculum & Achievement Committee

(19.07.16 – 19.07.20)

8 out of possible 10

Bob Steed

Community Governor

Children, Families and Community Committee

(01.08.17 – 01.08.21)

4 out of possible 10

Nick Tassell

Parent Governor

Resources, Personnel & Finance Committee (Chair)

(23.11.16 – 23.11.20)

7 out of possible 9

Ex Governors:

Robert Bedford

Director

Co-opted Governor

Children, Families and Community Committee

 (31.10.13 – 31.10.17)

Resigned 06.06.16

2 out of possible 5

Aine Mawji

Parent Governor

Resources, Personnel & Finance Committee

(27.11.12 – 27.11.16)

7 out of possible 11

Fiona McDonnell

Parent Governor

Curriculum & Achievement Committee

(01.11.14 – 01.11.18)

Resigned 08.05.16

4 out of possible 5

Morgan Melhuish

Staff Governor

Children, Families and Community Committee

(01.09.13 – 01.09.17)

Left employment 20.07.16

Employed by the Academy

7 out of possible 7

Tim Parkin

Parent Governor

Curriculum & Achievement Committee

(26.11.13 – 26.11.17)

Resigned 02.05.16

3 out of possible 4

Katherine Richardson

Associate Governor

Curriculum & Achievement Committee

(01.09.16 - 21.07.17)

Employed as an education lecturer (including ITT and CPD) by King’s College London 4 out of possible 10

Chris Upton

Director

Co-opted Governor

Vice Chair of Governors

Resources, Personnel and Finance Committee – Chair

(17.09.13 – 17.09.17)

12 out of possible 12

 

The Academy Articles of Association document can be found here.

Anyone wishing to contact the Governors can do so via the Clerk, Mrs N Bell (nbell@southborough.kingston.sch.uk)

 

Southborough High School
Hook Road
Surbiton
Surrey
KT6 5AS
020 8391 4324
Registered Office: Hook Road, Surbiton, Surrey KT6 5AS, Registered in England
& Wales, Company Registration No. 07776910
© 2016 Southborough High School / Designed & Built by GoAgency