Head Teachers Welcome

Latest Tweet


Teaching Assistant, Southborough High School, Kingston upon Thames https://t.co/V2R4cGiCr0

RT @krec2016: A great star is shining @shsrbk in @RBKingston

We are very proud of Jake, who is the new British #Squash Champion..! @englandsr @WorldSquash @pesport_SHShttps://t.co/eSV1cQCokP

This week's Griffin newsletter, featuring @SHSEco, who are organising electrical #recycling, as well as installing… https://t.co/kl8ZlLROZe
Follow Southborough High on Twitter

Calendar

Dear Parents/Carers and other stakeholders,

Proposed changes to Admission Arrangements for entry in September 2023

In accordance with the School Admissions Code 2021, Southborough High School is currently consulting on the admission arrangements for entry in September 2023. Please find our draft admission arrangements attached.

PDF Admissions Policy September 2023 Entry - Draft.

 

The consultation period lasts from Wednesday, 10th December 2021  to Wednesday 21st  January 2022.

Responses must be received by Wednesday 26th  January. In your response, please include your full name, title and contact details. Responses can be sent by email to office@southborough.kingston.sch.uk or post to Admissions Consultation, Southborough High School, Hook Road, Surbiton KT6 5AS.

The proposed changes are highlighted on the attached Draft Admissions Policy. In summary, the main proposed changes are:

Purpose The Standard Number for each year group in Years 7 to 11 is 150. There is no Standard Number for the Sixth Form. 
 

Practice for admissions to Year 7

 1. Children with Education and Health Care Plan (EHCP) which choose Southborough High school will be allocated a place before other applicants are considered. In this way, the number of places to be offered will be reduced by the number of children with EHCP. Children with EHCP that names Southborough High school and who arrive outside the normal admission round will be admitted to the school even if the school is oversubscribed.

 

Yours faithfully,

Niall Smith

Headteacher

Here you will find direct feedback the school has received from our local community on what they have to say about our students and our school. This feedback comes from our local residents, guests and visitors, police officers, bus drivers, local business owners and many more members of the general public…..

 

SENIOR LEADERSHIP

 

Mr Niall Smith

Role: Headteacher

Responsibilities: Strategy

Qualifications: Master of Arts (Cantab), National Professional Qualification for Headship (N.P.Q.H.)

Responsibilities: Strategy

Teaching Area: English
Email: nsmith@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

Mr Brian Burns

Role: Deputy Headteacher

Qualifications: Bachelor of Arts (Honours), National Professional Qualification for Headship (N.P.Q.H.)

Responsibilities: Quality Assurance

Teaching Area: Business Studies
Email: bburns@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

Mr Daniel Edwards

Role: Senior Assistant Headteacher

Qualifications: Bachelor of Science (Honours)

Responsibilities: Pastoral Care & DSL

Teaching Area: PE
Email: dedwards@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

Mr David Sanders

Role: Senior Assistant Headteacher

Qualifications: Bachelor of Science (Honours)

Responsibilities: Curriculum & Assessment
E-maildsanders@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

Mr Alal Haque

Role: Assistant Headteacher

Qualifications: Bachelor of Art (Honours)

Responsibilities; Quality of Learning and Head of English Faculty
E-mail: ahaque@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

Ms Rebecca Linney

Role: Assistant Headteacher

Qualifications: Bachelor of Art (Honours)

Responsibilities; Transition & Head of Year 10
E-mail: rlinney@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

Mr Ian Needs

Role: Assistant Headteacher

Qualifications: Bachelor of Art (Honours)

Responsibilities; Head of Sixth Form & Head of Humanities Faculty
E-mail: ineeds@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

Mrs Nataliya Bennett

Role: Business Manager

Responsibilities: Finance & Resources
Email: nbennett@southborough.kingston.sch.uk




Teaching Staff

English, Drama & Media Studies

Aisha Bashir ABS English Teacher abashir@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Miriam Glendenning       MGL HOS Media Studies mglendenning@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Jamie-Lee King JLK English Teacher and HOY 8 jking@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Satbir Panesar SBA English Teacher spanesar@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Chloe Parsons CPA HOS Drama and Outstanding Learner Co-ordinator cparsons@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Astral Roberts ARO English Teacher aroberts@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Amanda Taylor ATA English 2 i/c ataylor@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
       

Mathematics and Computing

Nathalie Audouin-Leighton NAU HOF Maths  naudouin-leighton@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Ian Boakes IBO Maths Teacher and Exams Officer iboakes@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
John Garcia JGR

Maths Teacher

jgarcia@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Amy McIntyre AMI Maths Teacher amcintyre@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Rustom Parekh RPA Maths Teacher rparekh@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Michel Rubini MRB Maths Teacher mrubini@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Jane Weller JWE Maths Teacher and Data Analyst jweller@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

Science 

Caroline Hall CHA Science Teacher  chall@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Shin Lee SLE Head of Key Stage 4 Science  slee@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Chelsea Litchfield CLC Science Teacher  clitchfield@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Diego Penagos DPE Science Teacher dpenagos@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
David Punter DPU Science Teacher dpunter@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Rebecca White RWH HOF Science rwhite@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Darnisha Yuvarajah DYU Head of Key Stage 3 Science dyuvarajah@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

Humanities 

Meghan Brannigan MBR History Teacher and AHOY 8 mbrannigan@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Ryan Carter RCA HOS Geography rcarter@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Jemima Fox JFO History Teacher and HOS Religious Studies jfox@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Scott Howe SHO Geography Teacher showe@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Matthew Iles MIL Religious Studies & Criminology Teacher miles@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

Modern Foreign Languages 

Alexandra Banks ABA MFL Teacher and HOY 9 and Assistant Head of Inclusion abanks@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Natasha Coen NCO MFL Teacher and Deputy Head of Sixth Form and EPQ Co-ordinator ncoen@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
David Johnson DJO HOF MFL and AHOY 11 djohnson@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

Engineering

Christina Andreou JGR HOS Business Studies candreou@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Sarah Cole SCE Engineering & Technology Teacher scole@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Depen Fatania DFA Engineering Teacher dfatania@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Claudia Melo CME Business Studies (maternity cover) cmelo@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Darren Sowerbutts DSO Head of Engineering dsowerbutts@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Gary Swinchin Rew GSR HOS ICT and PDT Co-ordinator and CCF gswinchinrew@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

Music & Art

Robert Bagley RBG Art & Engineering Teacher rbagley@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Kate Geering KGE HOY 7 and Art Teacher kgeering@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
David Morgan DMO HOF Music & Art dmorgan@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Vee Yendoll VYE HOS Music  vyendoll@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

Physical Education

Rhys Boorman RBO PE & PsychologyTeacher rboorman@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
James Colbert JCO HOF PE jcolbert@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Daniel Grinstead DGR PE Teacher and AHOY 10 dgrinstead@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Chris Jordan CJO PE Teacher and D of E Co-ordinator and AHOY 11 cjordan@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

Inclusion 

Karl Nicholas KNI Head of Inclusion and SENDCO and HOY 11 knicholas@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

Support Staff:

Pastoral Support Team

Dawn Ball DBA Pastoral Support Officer and Cover Supervisor dball@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Hilda Bellamy HBE School Counsellor hbellamy@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Karen Clements KCL Pastoral Support Officer and Cover Supervisor kclements@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Paul Da Costa PDA Learning Mentor pdacosta@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Sylwia Jezyk SJE Learning Facilitator sjezyk@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
David Naumann DNA Learning Facilitator dnaumann@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Samuel Taylor STY Learning Facilitator and PE samtaylor@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Sue Taylor STA Sixth Form Support Officer and BTEC Quality Nominee staylor@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Julie Tyson JTY Cover Supervisor jtyson@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

Teaching Assistants

Barry Collins BCO Teaching Assistant bcollins@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Karen Gregory KGR Teaching Assistant kgregory@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Roger Manning RMA Teaching Assistant rmanning@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Trudy Pollicott TPO Senior Teaching Assistant tpollicott@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Tahir Rehman TRE Teaching Assistant trehman@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Petra Sameri PSM EAL Coordinator psameri@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Mojgan Zaman-nia MZA Teaching Assistant mzaman-nia@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

Site Team

Elizabeth Argent EAR Cleaner eargent@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Bob Hawken RHA Site Manager bhawken@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Leszek Lisiecki LLI Cleaner llisiecki@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Daniel Nice DNI Assistant Site Manager dnice@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

Curriculum Support Team

Sam Coulson SCL Senior Science Technician scoulson@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Elaine Donnelly EDO Reprographics Assistant edonnelly@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Stephen Eacott SEA Activities Facilitator seacott@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Allison Hensman AHE Librarian ahensman@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Vineeta Shukla VSH Curriculum Support Assistant (Science & Food) vshukla@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Patricia Thorne PTH Curriculum Support Assistant (Art & Engineering) pthorne@southborough.kingston.sch.uk

Administration & Finance

Charlotte Conlon CCO PA to Headteacher cconlon@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Alexandra Desai ADE Attendance and Admininstrator adesai@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Sarah Humphreys SHU Office Manager shumphreys@southborough.kingston.sch.uk 
Clare Loveday CLO Finance Officer cloveday@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Nikki Mead NME Receptionist nmead@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Georgina McKelvey GMC Receptionist gmckelvey@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Anthony Smith ASM Administrator and Website Manager asmith@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
Nichola Bell NBE Clerk to Governors nbell@southborough.kingston.sch.uk
 
 

lib.jpg

The Library provides a place where students can access learning independently, to carry out research, pursue personal interests, do homework, study or read quietly.  It has a wide selection of fiction and non-fiction books, networked computers with internet access and many other resources.  All curriculum areas make extensive use of these facilities.  Students are expected to respect the Library, and to behave in a responsible manner so as not to disturb others.  

OPENING HOURS AND HOMEWORK CLUB

The Library is open Monday - Friday from 8:00am to 4:10pm.

The after school homework club is well attended by students and runs every Monday - Friday until 4:10pm.

The Library is open at lunchtimes for use by students.

A booking system operates for the use of computers. A reading group for Year 7 and 8 is held in the Library every other Wednesday lunchtime, commencing at 12:45pm. Sessions are run by staff from Kingston libraries.

 

CODE OF CONDUCT

  • Students are expected to behave in a responsible manner and to not disturb others.
  • Any damaged or lost items must be paid for.
  • Food, drink and chewing gum are forbidden in the Library.

  

School Calendar

Southborough High School
Hook Road
Surbiton
Surrey
KT6 5AS
020 8391 4324
Registered Office: Hook Road, Surbiton, Surrey KT6 5AS, Registered in England
& Wales, Company Registration No. 07776910
© 2016 Southborough High School / Designed & Built by GoAgency

We will try to respond within 48 hours